Derby Rowing Club was founded by a few friends who wanted to row. They worked for the train network and met in a pub by St. Mary’s bridge each week before deciding that they wanted to start rowing. Initially, they rented some land by the river from the rail company and made a small boathouse (which was called the shed). Over time expansion was needed and one cold winter when the river froze, the clubhouse was moved across to the other side of the river, where it is located today. Throughout the years, many improvements have been made, the latest of which is the addition of an extension which is now our erg room and many boats have been added to our fleet. Our members have competed at the highest levels with members racing in the Boat Race, World Championships and at Henley Royal Regatta.

Our Committee

Derby Rowing Club is governed by a committee which is made up of our members. Our committee roles are President, Captain, House Manager, Bar Manager, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Secretary, Junior Representative, Trustees, Welfare Officer, Club Rowing Safety Adviser and four committee members who are in place to speak on behalf of the club. These roles are filled each year at our Annual General Meeting where a vote is held on each role.


A brand new room for our ergometers has just been built for our members to use. It contains four Concept2 dynamic ergo’s along with multiple static ergo’s plus a Wattbike, perfect for anyone to use and train with. We also have a weights area inside our boathouse which has all the weights that you need to train effectively and gain that strength and endurance. Furthermore, we also have a fleet of boats with a mixture of recreational boats and racing boats, which the appropriate squads can use as needed.

We also have a function room which is available to hire for a multitude of events. The room has a full bar and kitchen which is available for use. To learn more, click the button below.


DRC is comprised of five squads; men’s squad, women’s squad, junior squad, masters squad and recreational squad. Our men’s, women’s and junior and masters squad are comprised of active members who train regularly and go away to race for the club at various events whether that be Henley Royal Regatta, Henley Women’s Regatta or some smaller provincial regattas such as Peterborough Summer Regatta (an extremely popular one amongst ourselves). Our recreational squad is for members who are perfectly happy to come down to the club on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon to go and have a paddle with their friends. We are perfectly happy to help people find the most appropriate squad and our team of coaches have many years of experience when advising on this. You can learn more about our coaching by clicking the button below.